LinkedIn features more than 500 million users. That audience includes more than 60 million decision-makers, 90 million senior-level influencers, and 10 million members of the C-suite. It’s a platform that companies can’t ignore, especially those in the business-to-business (B2B) sector.
That’s not the only reason why companies should advertise on LinkedIn, though. The benefits of LinkedIn advertising go beyond audience size and include features like targeting, ad types, budget, and more.
Learn more about why advertising on LinkedIn is a smart choice for your company!
1. Access a tremendous audience
You already know that LinkedIn features an audience of more than half a billion users. While that number doesn’t come close to the number of users on Facebook or Instagram, LinkedIn offers a unique advantage when it comes to its audience.
LinkedIn users share a massive amount of information, including:
- Past work experience
- And more
While users on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter also share personal details, those details rarely cover that user’s work history. Even then, the user may provide inaccurate information as a joke.
With LinkedIn, your company gets access to a sizable audience and accurate information. Even better, many LinkedIn users update their profiles on a routine basis, providing your team with the latest details on that person’s work experience and skill set.
2. Target your audience with accuracy
A notable benefit of LinkedIn advertising comes from the ad platform’s advanced targeting options. When you launch an ad campaign on LinkedIn, your team can get ultra-specific with your audience targeting.
For example, you can target users by:
- Job title
- Company Name
- Professional interests
- And more
This level of targeting allows your business to narrow your audience to the people that matter.
As most LinkedIn users provide accurate and up-to-date information, you can trust that your ads focus on the most viable candidates or business buyers. This benefit of LinkedIn advertising helps your company make the most of its ad spend.
3. Customize your budget to your business
Like many other social media advertising platforms, your team can tailor your budget to your business. In comparison, traditional advertising channels (like print) require upfront payment with zero guarantees for how your ad will perform.
The advantage of advertising on LinkedIn, as well as other social media networks, is that your company can change your budget and bids in response to your campaign’s performance. You have an active role in your campaign, which can help your team maximize your results.
If you advertise on LinkedIn, it’s worth mentioning that the platform does have some pricing minimums.
For example, all campaigns must have a daily budget of at least $10. If your campaigns use a cost-per-click (CPC) or cost-per-thousand-impressions (CPM) bidding strategy, you must submit a bid of at least $2.
These minimums usually help your company maximize the performance of your ad campaign. The average CPC for LinkedIn ads, for example, is around $5. While higher than the average CPC for Google Ads (which is about $1 to $2), LinkedIn offers prime access to high-value leads.
4. Connect with individuals in your target audience directly
Why else should you advertise on LinkedIn? Personalization.
With Sponsored InMail, your company can send customized messages to the audience members that matter the most to your business. Whether you’re looking to attract a valuable lead in your industry or potential candidate for your company, Sponsored InMail offers a competitive solution.
A few other uses of Sponsored InMail include:
- Inviting users to download exclusive content, like an ebook or white paper
- Encouraging users to sign-up or register for an in-person or online event
- Motivating users to purchase a product or service
LinkedIn also prevents your company from wasting its money with Sponsored InMail.
When you launch a Sponsored InMail campaign, LinkedIn prevents your business from sending messages to inactive members. This feature improves your company’s chances of reaching audience members and earning results from those interactions.
Sponsored InMail also display on both desktop and mobile devices for maximum usability.
5. Support your account-based marketing campaigns
If your company invests in account-based marketing (ABM), which focuses on targeting specific accounts or clients with a dedicated campaign, then you can use LinkedIn advertising to your advantage. That’s because the professional social media network designed its ad options to support ABM marketing.
This feature is an immense benefit of LinkedIn advertising for companies in the B2B industry.
With LinkedIn, it’s fast and simple for your team (or agency) to prepare and upload your account list. Plus, LinkedIn includes a tremendous amount of professional information about your target account, which makes it possible for your company to target these individuals with accuracy.
Your team can also take advantage of personalization options to tailor your ads to accounts. You can refer to a user’s name, title, and company, for example, to catch their attention and curiosity while browsing LinkedIn.
Depending on the value of your target account, advertising on LinkedIn could offer a massive payoff. Earning that new account, for example, could help your company launch a new product, hire additional team members, and even expand your operations.
6. Create a variety of ads, from video to text
A frequently mentioned benefit of LinkedIn advertising comes from its ad options. When you advertise on LinkedIn, you can use text, images, and video. You can also use several different ad formats, like carousel ads, email advertisements, and more.
The complete list of ads available on LinkedIn include:
Every ad offers different benefits, which is why it’s helpful for your team to review each ad’s features before committing to it. The advantage of advertising on LinkedIn, however, is that your company can always update your campaign to a different ad type.
If you’re looking to take a personalized approach to your ad campaign on LinkedIn, dynamic ads offer a unique advantage. You can customize them to audience members, like by showing that user’s photo, company name, and title in the advertisement.
In comparison, Sponsored Content offers a less personalized approach, which works well for its purpose. This advertisement, which promotes organic content on your LinkedIn page, engages users and invites them to read your content and follow your business.
Meanwhile, carousel ads offer a visual approach to advertising. They capture the attention of users with high-quality photos and ad copy that generates curiosity. It’s an excellent ad format for driving purchases, applications, and more.
Before you launch your campaign, review the different ad formats to find the best one for you.
Maximize the benefits of LinkedIn advertising
Why advertise on LinkedIn? LinkedIn offers dozens of benefits for advertisers, from an expansive audience to multiple ad formats to accurate audience data. While smaller than other social media networks, it provides a degree of targeting and accuracy that other platforms can’t match.
If you’re ready to take advantage of the benefits of LinkedIn advertising, IndustrialFX can help. With decades of experience, plus a dedicated team of social media specialists, we’re a trusted choice for businesses in the industrial sector.
Contact us online today to learn more about our custom strategies and upfront prices!